

Cross Country and Road Committee Annual report 2021

Last year we started the year with the new challenges presented by "ordinary Covid" and the latter part 2021 has seen us faced with further new challenges, this time the Delta variant.

If nothing else, these challenges have meant we have had to become more flexible and responsive, and I am again especially proud of the work done to create a fantastic Takahe to Akaroa road relay and experience the special vibe this evoked.

I congratulate all those Race Directors who organised and ran events during the 2021 season. To hold them at the standard and facing the challenges we did is a real credit to all. Thank you to John Gamblin, Vic Gamperle, Daniel Reese, Robyn Perkins, Sandie Gamperle, Peter King, Lockie Campbell, John Marshall, Al Cory-Wright, Lindsay Evans, Mark O'Reilly, and Kevin Knight.

Thanks too to all the officials who have supported us. I am aware some days were very long ones, and we are grateful to you all. Special mention to those who took on extra work they to ensure our events met the Covid requirements imposed on us. Thank you, all.

To the members of the Cross Country & Road Committee, our thanks for all your work both behind the scenes and on the day to make our events run smoothly. Much of this work is not immediately visible to athletes so it is important we take a moment to thank the team - Robyn Perkins, Victor Gamperle, John Gamblin, Sandie Gamperle, Peter King, Daniel Reese, and Kevin Prendergast, for their work in bringing us great events, selecting teams, marketing the sport, gaining funding, and generally keeping the sport in order.

2021 saw Kevin and Bernie Jago step down from the committee and, having completed the season, Bernie step down from being a selector. Bernie and Kevin have made a tremendous contribution to both the committee and other roles over many years and on behalf of all of us thank you both.

Outside our committee I would also like to thank Anne Kennedy, Craig & Shona Brown, Chris Rowe, Diana Phipps, and Brian Theobald for their roles in producing results, implementing the points systems, managing our trophies, and getting us all registered. The sport is very much indebted to you for the work you do. I would also like to acknowledge the support of Andrew Stark, the Chair of the Athletics Canterbury Board, and Ian Thomas, our General Manager.

To those who competed during the season we hope you have found it challenging, fun and rewarding. Over the season we have endeavoured to create opportunities for all types of runners and to recognise special achievements in the newsletters, on social media, and through the prize giving held earlier this evening. There have been many great runs and I particularly congratulate those who became our winter champions for 2021 and / or picked up a participation award. These awards are hard won. Well done on achieving them.

This year has seen the most adult adults registered in the past five years. We have had a significant increase in race entries especially the Takahe to Akaroa which was 300% above 2019. The Royal Derby created a bit fun on a dull day and racing was hard and fast at our champs. It is exciting to see the growth in the last year and be planning for 2022 to grow the sport even more. I am delighted to



have two new committee members joining us on our journey and welcome them to our "can do" Canterbury team.

I hope to see you all back next year ready for another exciting season; hopefully this time it will be the racing that challenges us rather than outside influences.

Annette Campbell November 2021

Canterbury Cross-Country & Road Trophy Winners 2021

Rawhiti Races

•	SM	Harry Ewing	CANU	Halswell Harriers Challenge Cup
•	SM Team		CANU	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
•	MU20	Max Yanzick	CANU	Henry M Vodder Trophy
•	MU18	Theo Walker	CHAV	R G Mauger Cup
•	MU18 Team		PRHL	Olympic Cup
•	SW	Anne McLeod	DGRS	Jane Paterson Senior Women Cup
•	SW Team		DGRS	Justin Mora Memorial Trophy
•	WU20	Neve Moulai	PRHL	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
•	WU18	Kiera Hall	PRHL	Horton Trophy
•	WU18 Team		PRHL	Trafalgar Cup

Canterbury Cross Country Championships

•	SM	Chris Dryden	CANU	Derisley Wood Jubilee Challenge
•	SM Team		CANU	Interclub Harrier Championship Cup
•	MU20	Cameron Clark	CHAV	F D Kesteven Cup
•	MU20 Team		CHAV	Eric L Cordery Cup
•	MM	Blair McWhirter	SUMN	Frank Sharp Trophy
•	MM Team		SUMN	Ivan Hawkey Trophy
•	Men U18	Charlie Hazlett	PRHL	J R Clarke 1960 Trophy
•	BU16	Angus Servier	PRHL	H L Spark Cup
•	BU14	Otto Church	NBOL	I D Greig Trophy
•	BU12	Ethan Richardson	SELW	North Canterbury Cup
•	SW	Katherine Camp	CANU	Rawson Trophy
•	MW	Nicola Handley	DGRS	Canterbury Cross Country Champs
•	MW Team		SUMN	Ivan Hawkey Trophy
•	WU20	Rosa Twyford	CANU	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
•	W U18	Keira Hall	PRHL	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
•	GU16	Elspeth McGuinness	PRHL	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
•	GU14	Tessa de Wit	PTOC	H R Forscutt Challenge Cup
•	GU12	Tayla Cox	NBOL	Athletics Canterbury Certificate



Road Championships

SM	Chris Dryden	CANU	Jim Greig Memorial Trophy
MM	Brett Tingay	CANU	Norm Fisher Tankard
MU20/18	Cameron Clark	CHAV	Christeen Hawkey-Lomas Trophy
BU 16	Angus Servier	PRHL	Athletics Canterbury Certificate
SW	Katherine Camp	CANU	Trevor Russell Memorial Trophy
MW	Tina Cox	NBOL	Ivan Hawkey Trophy
WU20/18	Sequoya Prentice	PTOC	Christeen Hawkey-Lomas Trophy
GU16	Brynne Gordon	PRHL	Evelyn Hawkey Trophy

Takahe-Akaroa

•	Citizens of Akaroa Trophy	CANU
•	Hewland Trophy	NBOL
•	Lorna Overend Trophy	DGRS
•	Sumner Trophy	RTIM
•	T2A Veteran Trophy	SUMN
•	St Martins Trophy	NBOL
•	Eric Jackson Trophy	NBOL
•	Christchurch Avon Trophy	DGRS
•	CC&R JM Trophy	CHAV
•	CC&R JW Trophy	PTOC
•	Harry van Looy	CANU
•	Tuhuru Trophy	CANU SM1

Governors Bay

- Four-person shield: Sumner
- Six-person shield (fastest team): University of Canterbury

Champions of the season

•	Senior Men	Thomas Richards	CHAV
•	Men 35-49	Nathan Jones	SUMN
•	Men 50-64	Peter Richards	CHAV
•	Men 65+	Rodger Ward	CHAV
•	Senior Women	Hannah Oldroyd	DGRS
•	Women 35-49	Amy de Wit	PTOC
•	Women 50+	Fiona Gilroy	PRHL



Participation Awards

Robyn Perkins **SUMN** Bee Ruder **SUMN** Annette Campbell **SUMN** Thomas Richards CHAV Nathan Jones **SUMN** Kevin Muir CHAV Bruce Steven **SUMN** CHAV John Gamblin Vic Gamperle CHAV

Peter Richards
 CHAV

Winter club of the year

First Christchurch AvonSecond SumnerThird Port Hills