Athlete of the Year

2023 2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013


2023 Award Winners

The Edmond Champagne Trophy:                 Christina Ryan
Most outstanding athlete at the Canterbury Track & Field Championships

Arthur Grayburn Cup:                                    Abbey Moody
Most outstanding javelin thrower

Technical Club Trophy (Female):                  Lexi Maples
Most meritorious performance in either shot, discus or hammer by a female athlete

Technical Club Trophy (Male)                       Max Attwell
Most meritorious performance in either 400m, 800m, 1500m or one mile by a male athlete

The O’Grady Trophy:                                     AJ Madondo
Most outstanding track & field athlete still attending school

E.E. Mayes Memorial Trophy:                       Asher Pettengell-Brand
Awarded to an Under 20 athlete for performance, sportsmanship and contribution

R.H. Harbison Memorial Cup:                       Masaki Tomooka
Awarded to a Senior athlete for performance, sportsmanship and contribution

Sprinter of the Year:                                        Rosie Elliot

Middle Distance Athlete of the Year:             Cooper Wightman

Distance Athlete of the Year:                          Connor Melton

Hurdler of the Year:                                        Anna Percy

Jumper of the Year:                                         Hamish Kerr

Thrower of the Year:                                       Tom Walsh

Para Athlete of the Year:                                 William Stedman

Combined Events Athlete of the Year:          Max Attwell

Walker of the Year:                                         Jonah Cropp

Master’s Athlete of the Year:                     Helena Dinnissen

Cross Country Runner of the Year:               Cameron Avery

Road Runner of the Year:                               Daniel Balchin

Secondary School Non Stadia Athlete of the Year:   Daniel Prescott

Junior Non Stadia Athlete of the Year:         Daniel Prescott

Senior Non Stadia Athlete of the Year:          Cameron Avery

Community Coach of the Year:                      Bill Boyd

Coach of the Year:                                           Terry Lomax
(Valdemars Briedis Memorial Cup)

New Official of the Year:                                 Bevan Ralfe

Official of the Year:                                         Ann Wells

Special Award for Exceptional Service to Athletics:  Ruth Liong
Junior Athlete of the Year:                             AJ Madondo

Senior Athlete of the Year:                              Hamish Kerr