Athlete of the Year

2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013

ATHLETICS CANTERBURY INC                          

AWARDS FUNCTION – 16 June  2021

Award Winners

The Edmond Champagne Trophy:            Tapenisa Havea
Most outstanding athlete at the Canterbury Track & Field Championships

Arthur Grayburn Cup:                                Jared Neighbours
Most outstanding javelin thrower

Technical Club Trophy (Female):                  Lauren Bruce
Most meritorious performance in either shot, discus or hammer by a female athlete

Technical Club Trophy (Male):                      Tom Moulai
Most meritorious performance in either 400m, 800m, 1500m or one mile by a male athlete

The O’Grady Trophy:                                     Tapenisa Havea
Most outstanding track & field athlete still attending school

E.E. Mayes Memorial Trophy:             Julia Burnham
Awarded to an Under 20 athlete for performance, sportsmanship and contribution

R.H. Harbison Memorial Cup:            James Sandilands   Awarded to a Senior athlete for performance, sportsmanship and contribution

Sprinter of the Year:                                       Tiaan Whelpton

Middle Distance Athlete of the Year:     Katherine Camp

Distance Athlete of the Year:                           Max Yanzick

Hurdler of the Year:                                        Maddie Wilson

Jumper of the Year:                                             Hamish Kerr

Thrower of the Year:                                          Lauren Bruce

Para Athlete of the Year:                                    Sarah James

Combined Events Athlete of the Year:          Max Attwell

Walker of the Year:                                         Courtney Ruske

Cross Country Runner of the Year:           Cameron Clark

Road Runner of the Year:                          Thomas Richards

Secondary School Non Stadia Athlete:Ethan Smolej                   
Junior Non Stadia Athlete of the Year:   Cameron Clark

Senior Non Stadia Athlete of the Year:       Chris Dryden

Community Coach of the Year:                Paul Wadsworth

Coach of the Year:                                      Sam McLean
(Valdemars Briedis Memorial Cup)

New Official of the Year:                               Nathan Cropp

Official of the Year:                                         Paul Nicholls

Merit Award for Exceptional Service to Athletics:        Priscilla Blanchet
Junior Athlete of the Year:
Maddie Wilson and Cameron Clark

Senior Athlete of the Year:                              Hamish Kerr

Merit Awards

2021    Priscilla Blanchet
2020   Andrew Stark
2020   Diane Smith
2019    Cassells Kernahan
2019    Bruce Milne
2018    Sam McLean
2018    Neville Reid
2017    Dave Bates
2017    Ann Henderson
2016    Ted Gilliver
2016    Lawrence “Buzz” Jones
2015    Dave Thomas
2014    John McBrearty
2014    Kevin Jago
2013    Bruce Leadley
2012    Ian Baird
2011    Linley Welford
2010    John McTaggart
2009    Rae Wenmouth
2008    John Smart
2007    Trevor Spittle
2007    Andrew Reese
2006    Patricia Boland
2005    Shona and Craig Brown
2004    Rod Syme
2003    Don Chadderton
2002    Warren Hastings
2001    John Clark
2000   Leon Blanchet
1999    Bob Perry
1998    Rod Dew
1997    Roger Byers
1996    Alan Tucker
1995    Jeannette and Graham Vivian
1994    Ted Lunn
1993    Valdemars Briedis
1992    Don Mackenzie

Blazer Pockets

Shoe Clinic (Cross Country and Road)

2021 Shoe Clinic “Athlete of the Week” awards
Event Grade 16 & up – $50.00 Grade 15 and down – $30.00
Canterbury Marathon Championship Andy Good (UNI)
Hagley Memorial Relay Hannah Oldroyd (DGRS) Angus Sevier (CHAV)
Lionel Fox Relays Ayrton Shadbolt (PHIILS) Tahlia Pellow (PTH)
Jane Paterson Races Max Yanzick (CANU) Byrnne Gordon (PHILLS)
Andrew Reese Memorial Relay Tania Cox (NBOL) Cooper Wightman (SELW)
Holloway Memorial Races Eva Pringle (PHILLS) Daniel Prescott (SELW)
South Island Cross-Country Champs/Kennett Cup  Chris Dryden (UNC)  Bela Cameron (CHAV)
Canterbury Cross-Country Championships  Charlie Hazlett (PHILLS)  Elspeth McGuinness (PHILLS)
Lakeside Relays
Canterbury Road Championships
Port Hills U18 Races
Governors Bay to Lyttelton
Takahe to Akaroa Relay
The Cross Country & Road Committee would like to thank Shoe Clinic for their support of these awards


Cross Country and Road "Runner of the Season" 2021

“Runner of the Season” as after the South Island Cross Country Championships.



Shoe Clinic (Track and Field)


13th February 2021
Tapenisa Havea New Brighton Olympic Discus 45.74 metres
  60m 7.92 sec
  Shotput 12.04 metres
Levi Murdoch Papanui Toc H High Jump (under 18) 1.90 metres
30th January 2021
Jessica Schofield University of Canterbury 3000m 10:03.56
Charlie Hazlett Port Hills 3000m (under 20) 8:47.31
22nd January 2021
Cameron Clark Christchurch Avon Open 3000m 8:24.94
16th January 2021
Tiaan Whelpton Old Boys United 100m 10.50 sec (Personal Best)
30th December 2020
Chris Dryden University of Canterbury 3000m 8:24.94
19th December 2020
Jordyn Blake Old Boys United 100m 11.96 sec
  200m 24.25 sec
Jared Neighbours Old Boys United Javelin 55.08 (Personal Best)
  Pole Vault 4.05 metres (Personal Best)
  High Jump 1.75 metres
  Discus 35.81 metres
28th November 2020
Laura Smith University of Canterbury 1500m 4:38.07
John Wells Christ’s College 400m (under 18) 50.87 sec
  200m 22.21 sec
21st November 2020
Will Chunn Old Boys United 100m (under 16) 10.92 sec
Gracie Pratten Port Hills 100m Hurdles (U16) 14.84 sec
  60 m 8.00 sec
  Long Jump 5.31 metres
14th November 2020
Maia Broughton Old Boys United 200m Wu20 24.76 sec
  400m Wu20 57.42 sec
William Stedman Port Hills 400m SM Para 54.11 sec
7th November 2020
Tapenisa Havea Lions Shot Put – Under 18 16.75 metres (Canty Record)
  Discus 41.71 metres
Alfie Baker Christ’s College High Jump Under 20 2.01 metres (Personal Best)
31st October 2020
Jordyn Blake Old Boys United 400m 56.00 sec
  100m 12.21 sec
Joshua Bull Papanui TocH Pole Vault 4.00 metres
  Long Jump 6.22 metres
  Discus (1.5kg) 44.71 metres
24th October 2020
Anna Percy Old Boys United 100m 12.14 sec (Personal Best)
  200m 24.66 sec (wind assisted)
Levi Ferguson Phoenix High Jump (U16) 1.95m (Personal Best)